my vegetarian story.

I thought I would share about my vegetarian story.

It’s very short as I’m still on the starting line.

I have been a vegetarian for 6 months.

This is my story on why I became vegetarian.

For as long as I can remember  I’ve always loved animals and I’ve been sad whenever I’ve seen an animal squished on the road.

My mum confirmed that I have always loved animals and she always thought I would’ve been a vet or gone into animal care.
This was most likely the catalyst for me wanting to become a vegetarian.

Originally, I wanted to become a vegan, however I followed my mums advice and try vegetarianism first.
I agreed with her and decided to try being a vegetarian for a couple of years and if I thought I could hack it as a vegan, I would go for it.

Veganism/Vegetarianism aren’t just diet choices, they’re lifestyle choices at the end of the day.

So I officially became a vegetarian on the 9th July 2016 and it was honestly one of the best decisions of my life.

My diet currently consists of a lot of pasta and salads, however I am very open to trying new foods and even going as far to say that I would attempt to cook them.

My new way of tracking my diet for 2017 is a food journal.

In a sense, this is almost like a bullet journal but I’m just using the aspect of food and diet.

On New Year’s Eve of 2016, my mum gave me a pin badge from the 1970s from the National Anti Vivisection Society, that she became apart of as a new vegetarian, from what she’s told me, she used to go on rallies and campaign against cosmetic testing on animals.

Since becoming a vegetarian in July, I have saved over 100 animals and lowered by carbon footprint by not eating meat, by doing so I have allowed 804 pounds of CO2 not released into the atmosphere.
Now, lets compare these statistics to my mum, who has been a vegetarian for 30 years. In effect, she has saved over 6000 animals (5850 lbs of meat not eaten) and she hasn’t released over 48,000 pounds of CO2.
Imagine how many more animals that could be saved and we can also lower the world’s carbon footprint and save the planet that we inhabit.

If anyone reads this and would  like to offer me some tips, recipes, etc. I’d love to hear about them.

 

 

2 thoughts on “my vegetarian story.

Leave a Reply

